Entry and Visa for Austria

Please check the official Entry and Visa information for Austria.
Generally for entry to the European Union (including Austria) you need a so called “Schengen Visa”.

Visa-free countries

Nationals of EU member states, the European Economic Area (EEA) and Switzerland do not require a visa for entering the Republic of Austria. All other nationals require a visa in order to enter the Schengen Area or the Austrian territory. For stays of up to 90 days per 180 days these individuals require a Schengen visa, given that they do not take up employment.

Nationals of countries which signed bilateral or multilateral agreements on the abolition of visa requirement, are visa-free if they stay in Austria for a maximum period of 90 days and do not take up employment.

According to Appendix 2, Council Regulation (EC) No 539/2001 of 15 March 2001 nationals of the following countries are visa-free (non-committal information!):

Albania, Mauritius, Andorra, Mexico, Antigua and Barbuda, Moldova, Argentina, Monaco, Australia, Montenegro, Bahamas, New Zealand, Barbados, Nicaragua, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Panama, Brazil, Paraguay, Brunei, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Darussalam, Saint Lucia, Canada, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Chile, Samoa, Costa Rica, San Marino, Dominica, Serbia, El Salvador, Seychelles, Grenada, Singapore, Guatemala, Taiwan, Holy See, Timor-Leste, Honduras, Trinidad und Tobago, Hong Kong, United Arab Emirates, Israel, United States of America, Japan, Uruguay, Korea, Republic (South), Vanuatu, Macao, Venezuela, Macedonia, Malaysia.

(source: www.bmeia.gv.at)